Forage Trials

Ontario Forage Crop Variety Performance


The Ontario Forage Crops Committee (OFCC) is made up of representatives of Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, the Canadian Seed Growers Association, the Canadian Seed Trade Association, the Dairy Farmers of Ontario, the Ontario Cattlemen’s Association, the Ontario Forage Council, the Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food, and Rural Affairs, the Ontario Soil and Crop Improvement Association, and the University of Guelph.

The OFCC reviews research work on forage species and uses this information to prepare production recommendations. As part of this effort, the committee evaluates under Ontario conditions the performance of experimental varieties of forages. Tests are conducted each year by the following co-operative agencies: Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada Research Station at Kapuskasing and the University of Guelph research stations at Elora, Huron Park, Kemptville, New Liskeard, and Thunder Bay.